All this happened, more or less

I have been having a whirlwind of an adventure so far that it seems like I haven’t had a moment to even think about writing about it at all in the past few days so here I am!

On the academic side of everything, I have finished orientation as well as a two day program known as PAWS (Professional Attributes Workshop). The orientation meetings, like a mentioned in my last post, continued to focus on how to succeed here at SGU. Everything from research and laboratory safety to career options to financial aid needs were covered. I’m not going to pretend like sitting through all these lectures were necessarily my idea of an amazing sunny afternoon but I will say that i learned a solid amount of information. I also gained a lot of anxiety the more the idea of TIME MANAGEMENT was relentlessly pummeled into our brains. The schedules made for us balancing daily classes, review sessions, at least 5 hours of study time (not including study sessions), previewing for classes, extracurricular organizations, exercise, “down time”, and the oh-so-coveted concept of sleep was laid out to the absolute minute. However, upon discussion with countless upper termers, I am confident in my assessment that these schedules may just be a liiiiiittle heavy handed.

web of trust
web of trust
team 6 banner

As far as the PAWS program, I was beyond surprised. Stereotypical summer camp games tied together with both informational and motivational lectures made a great environment for our small 114-odd class really get to know one another. And considering we are going to be spending the next 3 years locked on this island with the dread of every looming exam, its best we get close know (and as a point of reference, we did get ABNORMALLY physically close due to some of those aforementioned camp games). OH! and how could I forget to mention the amazing Team 6 that I was grouped into. Our dynamic was absolutely amazing, intellectual, supportive, and quirky.

In addition to all of that, I also experienced my first weekend as a resident on the island and I can promise you I was not disappointed. As a responsible, of-age adult, I went to a house party followed by a trip to Options, a local area that essentially is made of different options (hence the name) of food and drinks and music. Needless to say my friends and I had an amazing time.

one of the options
one of the options

I also went on a tour of the Grand Etang Rainforest. Although the monkeys refused to join us, we did get some amazing sights of the town of St. George, the Grand Etang Lake, as well as a stunning waterfall that we didn’t hesitate to dive into (other than Caroline at least). For this section, I’ll let the images do most of the talking.

nutmeg before it is ground up for spices.
nutmeg before it is ground up for spices.
IMG_1797
an amazing view from the highest drivable area in all of Greneda
the grand etang lake
the grand etang lake
local goods, jewelry, spices, and candies sold at the mountain top
local goods, jewelry, spices, and candies sold at the mountain top
IMG_1807
the sun was so strong the glare was inevitable
IMG_1808
just a quick swim
the waterfall
the waterfall
fresh mountain-top coconuts to drink from
fresh mountain-top coconuts to drink from
passing through the waterfront in St. George
passing through the waterfront in St. George
countless boats were docked all throughout the area
countless boats were docked all throughout the area
Leave a Reply

